JOB OPENING - Manager, Clarkesville-Habersham County Library

This site exists primarily to provide board information to trustees, staff, and the public. A printable version of all sections of the Northeast Georgia Regional Library System Policy Handbook is presented in PDF format so that the printed copies will be identical to handbooks distributed at board meetings. Adobe Acrobat Reader will need to be installed on your computer in order to access these pages. A free download is available at

There are also links to the PINES catalog, Georgia Public Library Services, and GALILEO, as well as basic information about each affiliated library.

Quick Links 

Board Orientation - Summary

Board Orientation - Slides

Board Orientation - Manual

County Library Program Personnel Policies - Habersham

Interlibrary Loan Form & FAQ - ILL

PINES Circulation Policies & Procedures - PINES

Most Recent board minutes - Minutes

Abbreviated FY2013 Annual Report


History and Background Information

The Northeast Georgia Regional Library System has its headquarters in Clarkesville and works with six affiliated libraries in Habersham, Rabun, Stephens, and White Counties. The four counties cover a geographical area of approximately 1,067 square miles.

The Clarkesville Library was started in 1928 and was the regional headquarters until 2009. The two Habersham County Libraries (Clarkesville and Cornelia) joined with the Stephens County Library Program, with the exception of Toccoa, to form the Habersham-Stephens Regional Library System on July 15, 1944.

On December 19, 1951, White County joined the system, and the name was changed to the Northeast Georgia Regional Library System. On August 14, 1956, Rabun County joined, and on July 1, 1966 the City of Toccoa joined, completing the system as it exists today.

The first system librarian was Byrd Ivester, who served from 1944-1963. Kathryn Sovey served as Acting Librarian from 1963-1965. Elizabeth Rountree was appointed Director in 1965. Emily Anthony became the Regional Director in 1972. On her retirement in 1988, Emerson Murphy was appointed as Regional Director.

Copyright 2005-2014 Northeast Georgia Regional Library System